Ceylon Masters 2018 Reaches Final Stage

Ceylon Masters 2018 Reaches Final Stage

The Ceylon Badminton Masters Association unfurled the first-ever international masters competition in the country.

Since Monday, 278 players from nine countries, including a large Sri Lanka contingent of senior badminton players, have been in action. Over 90 foreign players from India, Malaysia, Macau, Nepal, Indonesia, China, Hongkong, New Zealand and Australia have been lavish with their praise for the organisation and hospitality of the host nation.

They have also not been short of highly contested matches with many Sri Lankan players now listed on the international circuit displaying a very high standard.

Frits Mainaky of Indonesia and the ageless Rohan De Silva have been the focus of all eyes, coming through the initial rounds with ease. Others, like former Sri Lanka national champion Niroshan Wijekoon, Chandrika De Silva and Sriyani Deepika, have displayed scintillating shuttle mastery while stalwarts Duminda Jayakodi, Thanuja Liyanage, Hemantha Kodituwakku, Clarence Homer, Sampath Fernando, Nihal Amarsena, Rohan Fernando and Kamal Gamlath have been outstanding.

Among the visitors, Mainaky, Arnold Dendeng, Muhamed, Yuan Minkang, Tan Tean How, Maran Thangavelu, Bin Abdullah, Budi Sugianto, Anthony Lourdes, Ramesh Bhattachan, Bhishnu Shrestra, Deepali Joshi and Aneesh Kannangayath have been a delight to watch.

Of special note is the presence of the seniormost players, Dr. Mrs. Premila Senanayake of Sri Lanka and Sahani Singh of India, who defied the passage of years to put on impressive displays of court craft.

This afternoon, Army Commander Lt. Gen. Mahesh Senanayake is expected to attend the event as the Chief Guest and fete the senior champions, which will be followed by a gala farewell felicitation and dinner celebration for all participants.

Source: DailyFT

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four − 1 =